Slap in the Face

Standard

Image

I can’t remember how long it’s been since I’ve laughed a good hearty laugh. I think I’m even starting to get wrinkles on my face for not smiling or laughing enough. I didn’t even know that was possible. Oh how I miss the old me! The one who was always optimistic and always looked on the bright side of things and always believed in people and in dreams. All that’s been erased by reality. And a really harsh one.

I graduated from college with, like every fresh graduate, big dreams for myself and for my contributions to the world. I do not know if it was a feeling of misplaced grandeur and/or exaggerated self-importance, but I had big visions of me helping in the eradication of our social evils, like famine, poverty and unequal access to clean tap water. If not helping, then at least not be indifferent about it. Well, I was in for some serious disillusionment! It was like a slap in the face.

I was met with a more or less universal attitude of indifference and complacency surrounding these issues. It is horrifying appalling how self-centered we have all become nowadays–all we care about is the latest fancy car, the largest shoe collection or the most expensive phone. And that too only to impress our neighbor, AND drown ourselves in a huge amount of debt. I love this quote by Will Smith:

“We spend money that we do not have, on things we do not need, to impress people who do not care.”

When did we become a society that is so full of itself? Is it the world that’s turning us into these heartless robots, or is it a behavior that’s innate in us, and we’re only using our busy lives as an excuse and a shield? I was definitely not prepared for this kind of welcome to real life. Now let me go put on a fake smile to minimize the onset of wrinkles.

 

Leave a Reply

